Film the house

Film The House is a competition run by MPs to find the filmmakers of the future. It also raises
awareness of the importance of protecting intellectual property (IP) rights among creators, legislators
and the general public.

Competition details

Film the House is pleased to announce the shortlist for the 2018 competition:

View the full shortlist press release here.

A parliamentary-based film and scriptwriting competition for student and independent filmmakers based in the UK.

Entries are submitted to your local MP who will do the first round of judging so the competition gives Parliamentarians an opportunity to engage with a grass-roots creative demographic and provides the creative community with a vehicle through which to communicate their issues to legislators.

In short, Film the House provides a means for the UK creative industries to communicate the importance of protecting their intellectual property rights in a fun manner which gives a foundation for Parliamentarians to push hard to protect creative output and for MPs’ constituents to interact with their local MP (perhaps for the first time).

The competition is sponsored by Rt Hon Sir Kevin Barron MP, Lord Tim Clement-Jones and Rt Hon John Whittingdale OBE MP.

Competition details

Find out more

Copyright for creators

Find out more


Find out more

The 2018 competition is now closed!

The winners will be announced in April 2019.